Farewell Mr. Williams: My thoughts on Robin Williams death

by quebecalexander

robin-williams_1

Hello folks, I’m back.

As many of you are aware, We’ve just lost one of our most prolific entertainers of our time. Normally, celebrity deaths don’t get to me as much, but since Robin Williams portrayed a large portion of the characters I (and many others of my generation) are familiar with, I felt that a part of my childhood has gone along with him too.

I recall seeing the movie Mrs. Doubtfire a long time ago, and it is one of my all time favorite movies. I remember relating to the kids in the story, watching their diametrically opposed parents undergo the painful and often times convoluted process of divorce, from both the legal and emotional aspects. I remember the hilariousness of the movie too (Run by fruitings, Lol, can’t forget that one) and the struggle the father went through just to be near his kids. It was the ending speech, however, that stood out to me as a youngin watching his parents split up

You know, some parents get along
much better when they don’t live together.
They don’t fight all the time
and they can become better people.
Much better mommies and daddies for you.
And sometimes they get back together.
And sometimes they don’t, dear.
And if they don’t,
don’t blame yourself.
Just because they don’t love each other
doesn’t mean that they don’t love you.
There are all sorts of different families, Katie.
Some families have one mommy,
some families have one daddy,
or two families.
Some children live with their uncle or aunt.
Some live with their grandparents,
and some children live with foster parents.
Some live in separate homes
and neighbourhoods
in different areas of the country.
They may not see each other for days,
weeks, months or even years at a time.
But if there’s love, dear,
those are the ties that bind.
And you’ll have a family in your heart for ever.
All my love to you, poppet.
You’re going to be all right.
Bye-bye.

That’s why this death hit me more than most. When the movie came out, it was a few years after my parents got divorced. When a child doesn’t see their own parents love each other, or worse, the child often feels that the world is indeed a cruel and inhospital place, and at the disadvantage of being too young to truly understand what it all means. The movie came along and gave me the message that, in spite of the fact that my parents didn’t love each other like they used, they still loved me and my brothers, and they would continue (and still do) to love us until the end. Seeing that movie, during the time I was going through seemed like it was good timing. I didn’t feel the weight of guilt or shame, nor did I no longer feel that I was to blame for why my parents got divorced. For that, I am forever grateful that I got to hear these words so long ago.

Mr. Williams, I hope you’ve found the piece you’ve been looking for. My 10 year old self thanks you, and so does my 30 year old self.

